Valley News Desk

Jammu, April 19: The Jammu and Kashmir government has revoked the detention of five persons under Public Safety Act and they have been freed from Kotbalwal Jail Jammu.

A senior official of Home Department told the GK, “They were detained in August last year.”

The official identified them as Muhammad Maqbool Malla, Farooq Ahmad Shah, Ajaz Shamed Parray, Adil Farooq Bhat and Firdous Ahmad Shah.

Hundreds of Kashmiris including political leaders, trade leaders, lawyers, activists, youths were arrested around August 5, 2019, when the central government revoked the special constitutional position of Kashmir.

J&K government has released 56 persons from jails in the past two weeks. Officials have said that more people are being released.

The step has been taken to decongest jails in J&K in wake of COVID19 outbreak.

Follow Us On
Valley News Desk